An update and an advice request

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been thinking about what to make a blog about. I’ve been to a fantastic conference, and been on some very enlightening fieldwork. However I feel that one of the most important things that have happened to me in the past few weeks has been the official transition from student to graduate!

Image

And with that, I ended one part of my university career, and met the conditions of my next! 

So in September, I’ll be going back to Royal Holloway to start my NERC funded PhD on geochronology of metamorphic rocks in Shetland.

I can’t wait to become a PhD student and entering into the academic community. I feel extraordinarily lucky to be given this opportunity and I’m really excited about starting!

Wish me luck, and if anyone has any advice for me as I start my PhD, I’d love to hear it!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An update and an advice request

  1. Jessica says:

    Lockwood mentioned an old post he wrote when I was asking the same sorts of questions (http://outsidetheinterzone.blogspot.com/2008/10/tips-for-science-grad-students.html), and that reminded me that I wrote a post about it too! http://blogs.agu.org/magmacumlaude/2012/08/17/so-youre-a-new-geosciences-grad-student/

    I hope they’re useful for you! Good luck, and if you don’t already, start reading PhD Comics. You’d be surprised just how accurate they are, and they’re always good for a laugh.

Leave a Reply

